test image

McMillan re-elected U of I Board chairman
Board also re-elects Executive Committee, University officers

January 21, 2016     Tweet this | Share on Facebook

CHICAGO — Edward L. McMillan was re-elected to a second one-year term as chairman of the University’s Board of Trustees during its annual organizational meeting Thursday.      

A University alumnus and trustee since 2009, McMillan heads a 12-member board that governs the U of I and its campuses in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago and Springfield, with more than 80,000 students, 24,000 faculty and staff, and a $5.6 billion annual budget.

McMillan, 69, of Greenville, is an independent business consultant specializing in mergers, acquisitions, divestitures and creating business alliances in the food and agribusiness industries. From 1988 to 1996, he was president and CEO of Purina Mills, where he began his career as a field sales representative in 1969 and also held various positions in marketing, business development and diversified business management.

He earned his bachelor’s degree in agricultural science from the Urbana-Champaign campus and is a recipient of the Alumni Association’s Distinguished Service Award and the College of Agriculture’s Award of Merit.

The board also elected its three-member Executive Committee, which meets as needed to complete urgent University business that cannot be postponed to a regular meeting. Members of the committee are McMillan and trustees Karen Hasara of Springfield and James Montgomery of Chicago.  All will serve one-year terms.

Other U of I trustees are Ramon Cepeda of Darien; Ricardo Estrada, of Chicago; Patrick Fitzgerald, of Chicago; Patricia Brown Holmes, of Chicago; Timothy Koritz, of Roscoe; and Jill Smart of Downers Grove. Student trustees are Jauwan Hall from the Chicago campus; Jaylin McClinton from the Urbana-Champaign campus; and Dominque Wilson from the Springfield campus.

Trustees also re-elected Thomas R. Bearrows as University legal counsel, Susan M. Kies as secretary of the Board of Trustees and the University, and Walter K. Knorr as comptroller. Bearrows and Knorr will serve one-year terms. Kies will serve until June 30, when she will retire and be replaced by Dedra “DeeDee” Williams, a longtime University administrator. Lester McKeever Jr. was re-elected to a two-year term as treasurer last year.

Complete board and committee membership and other information are available at the Board of Trustees’ website – www.uillinois.edu/trustees/.


The University of Illinois is a world leader in research and discovery, the largest educational institution in the state with more than 80,000 students, more than 24,000 faculty and staff, and campuses in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago and Springfield. The U of I awards more than 20,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees annually.


Follow us on Twitter